Ropley Horticultural Society



Programme and Events - 2019

All evening meetings are held at the Ropley Sports Pavilion (SO24 0DJ), behind the Ropley Parish Hall, at 7.45pm, unless stated otherwise.
Visitors are welcome at all evening meetings - Entrance fee £5 - Free parking.

Monday 25th February
Illustrated talk “The Cape Floral Kingdom”.
Vince Gradwell

Monday 25th March
Illustrated talk “Growing Vegetables in Small Gardens”
Geoff Hawkins, well-known local horticulturalist and show judge.

Saturday 13th April
SPRING SHOW 8.00am - 4.00pm
(Show open to public 2.30pm - 4.00pm)
Refreshments featuring home baking. Relax over a special Cornish cream tea with waitress service before admiring the displays of Spring flowers, floral art and cookery.
Ropley Parish Hall

Monday 29th April
Illustrated talk “How to Grow Clematis Successfully including Pruning Demonstration”
Marcus Dancer who will also have plants for sale.

Friday 17th May
PLANT SALE 2.00pm - 5.00pm
Locally grown bedding, specimen plants, vegetables and perennials. Come early to get the best choice!
Ropley Coffee Room

Saturday 18th May
PLANT SALE 9.30am-1.00pm
Ropley Coffee Room

Monday 24th June
SUMMER PARTY 6.30pm
Tichborne Park
Catherine Loudon

Monday 29th July
Illustrated talk “Late Summer Borders”
Marina Christopher. Well known local grower and supplier. Plants for sale.

Society Cup Sweet Pea Competition

Saturday 17th August
SUMMER SHOW 8.00am - 4.00pm
(Show open to public 2.30pm - 4.00pm)
Entry free and home-made refreshments available. Come early to see the best of our flowers, fruit, vegetables, floral art, cookery, craft and photographs.
Guest Prize Presenter Mr Geoff Hawkins
Ropley Parish Hall

Monday 30th September
Outing to West Dean Gardens
(Coach Outing 0930/1630hrs - from/to Parish Hall)

Monday 28th October
Illustrated talk "Gardening for Wildlife"
Alan Edmondson

Monday 25th November
CHRISTMAS Festivities
Mince Pies & Mulled Wine
Illustrated talk "Herbs, Tinctures, Folklore & Self Medication"
Andrew Bentley

2020


Monday 27th January
AGM followed by a presentation:
"Travel through the Himalayas"
Rem Moser